Lithograph with fine hand-colouring, very scarce; sheet 420 x 260mm (16½ x 10½"). Slight marks lower right off subject.
The Oratory of the Paraclete, a Benedictine monastery founded by Peter Abelard (1079-1142) in Ferreux-Quincey, France. After Abelard became abbot of the Abbey at Saint-Gildas-de-Rhuys he left the Paraclete to his wife Héloïse d'Argenteuil (1092?-1164), who became its abbess and spent the rest of her life there. Their remains were buried there but later moved twice, first to the church of Nogent-sur-Seine and then to Père Lachaise Cemetery, Paris. Plate from 'Picturesque Views of the Principal Monuments in the Cemetery of Père La Chaise, near Paris', which comprised of ten coloured lithographs by John Thomas Serres (1759-1825), including one of the joint tomb of Abelard and Héloïse in the cemetery. Serres, who like his father Dominic specialized in marine painting, was also a skilled printmaker although his later years were dogged by financial difficulties. Serres died in the same year that this volume was published.
Ex: collection of the Late Hon. C. Lennox-Boyd; Abbey 115.10. For the tomb of Abelard and Héloïse see ref. 36764
[Ref: 36766] £120.00