View of Somerset Place the Adelphi, & c. from the Temple-Garden.
Pub. June 1, 1795, by J. & J. Boydell, Shakespeare Gallery, Pall Mall, & No. 90, Cheapside.
Fine hand coloured aquatint, very large margins. Printed area: 215 x 320mm (8½ x 12½"). Slight staining in margin.
Plate 15 from Joseph Farington's (1747 – 1821) 'History of the River Thames', 1794, a two-volume publication including 76 aquatints. A very fine picturesque view with the Thames in the centre, two men with two dogs strolling in the right foreground, and a group of five figures behind. Two barges can be seen to the left, with Somerset House in the right middle distance, and a spire and an obelisk in the background.
[Ref: 33463] £260.00