View of the Law-Courts, Looking up the Liffey, Dublin.
London Published March 1799 by Jas. Malton.
Hand-coloured etching and aquatint, very large margins. Plate 317 x 432mm. 12½ x 17".
View of a large neo-classical building on the right, with a dome and pedimented portico, with arcaded gateways running from it across courtyards to the wings on either side, seen from the river with two bridges visible in the distance and many boats and figures, and a dog lying on driftwood in the centre. The Four Courts, from Ormonde Bridge (swept away in a flood in 1802), Dublin, Ireland. According to Maurice Craig, this plate must have been one of the last plates to be completed, because the Four Courts was still not finished by the Act of Union in 1800. In the distance is Dublin Bridge or the Old Bridge, rebuilt in 1816-17 as Whitworth Bridge and known as Father Theobald Matthew's Bridge. The houses seen on the left side of the plate show us that the South Quays were not developed until the early nineteenth century From "A Picturesque and Descriptive View of the City of Dublin".
In the National Library of Ireland. Abbey Scenery: 473.10. Bonar-Law: 2.57.
[Ref: 25600] £350.00