Ruins of Kom Ombo.Kom Ombo. Novr. 21st, 1838.
London, Published F. G. Moon, 20 Threadneedle Street, Aug.t 14th , 1846.
Tinted lithograph, printed area 325 x 490mm (12¾ x 19¼").
A temple half-buried in sand. Kom Ombo is unique in ancient Egypt as a double temple, being equally split between the dieties of Sobek (the Crocodile god) and Horus (the falcon-headed god). The temple had two sets of courts, halls, sanctuaries and rooms. Three-hundred crocodile mummies were discovered in the area of the temple.
[Ref: 23098] £980.00