[The Lindgate, Rye.] 39.[Rye was on the places which was added, with Winchelsea, to the confederation of the Cinque Ports of Henry II. in the thirteenth century. The Lindgate, or as it is now called the Landgate, is the only survival of the three portals which were built by Edward III. in 1360 as a part of Rye's fortifications. It is a beautifully proportioned massive building consisting of a broad archway flanked by massive towers with upper chambers. The Gate, although well preserved, shows many scars of battle, proving it was built for use and not ornament. Some years ago it was renovated with great care, and now forms a picturesque and interesting relic.]
[n.d. c.1920.] Copyright. F. & M. Ltd., Bedford, Eng.
Etching. 256 x 282mm. 10 x 11".
[Ref: 14620] £35.00