[Leycester Hospital, Warwick, Outer Porch.] 16.[This Hospital owes its existence to Robert Dudley, Earl of Leicester, and dates from the reign of Henry VI. In 1511, the Earl of Warwick took the building over and founded the Hospital to accommodate twelve ex-soldiers or their descendents in succession, from the villages in the surrounding district. The men were provided with blue gowns, with Leicester's badge and a ragged staff, embroidered on the left sleeve. To-day the gowns are worn by the pensioners when they attend church. The Hospital, a very fine example of a timber framed building, stands in a terrace rising abruptly from the roadway to St. James' Chapel, which is built over the arch of the old West Gate. Overhanging the arch entrance gateway is a picturesque gabled storey with the insignia "The Bear and Ragged Staff."]
[n.d. c.1920.] Copyright. F. & M. Ltd., Bedford, Eng.
Etching. Image 286 x 255mm. 11¼ x 10".
[Ref: 14555] £30.00