VAT included (see terms) | Exclude VAT

St. Martin's Hall, The Great Room.
St. Martin's Hall, The Great Room. To the Members of Mr. Hullah's Singing Schools, This Plate is respectfully inscribed by the Publisher.
Ashbee & Dangerfield, litho. 22 Bedford Street, Strand.
London, Fred Pitman, 20, Paternoster Row. [c.1855.]
Sepia tinted lithograph, 'Proof' inscribed lower left, sheet 330 x 395mm. 13 x 15½".
A fascinating and very rare view of the packed interior of one of Londonís lost theatres, during a concert. At the far end of the hall, a conductor stands in front of a huge choir and musicians, an organ towering above. St. Martin's Hall stood on Long Acre, Covent Garden, London, and opened in 1850 with a capacity of 4000. Part of the building was given over to John Hullahís singing school and named St. Martin's Music Hall. The whole building was converted in 1867 by C.J. Phipps and renamed the Queen's Theatre. The Theatre was never really a success and was closed and demolished in 1879.
[Ref: 14855]   £260.00  
enquire about this item add to your wishlist